Skip To Main Content

2015 Student Research Conference Awards

ARCHIVED PAGE - You are viewing an archived page. Any data submissions will be discarded.  Click here to view our current pages.

3rd Annual CPP Student Research Conference

The ten oral presentation winners will represent CPP at the CSU system-wide Student Research Competition on May 1-2, 2015 at CSU San Bernardino.

3rd Annual Student Research Conference Winners

Oral and Poster Presentation Winners

Oral Presentation Awards

Tabitha Lindsay
Session 1: Biological and Agricultural Sciences, Graduate
Project: North Pacific Opisthobranchs
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ángel Valdés

Jonathan Tringali
Session 2: Biological and Agricultural Sciences, Graduate
Project: Cross Protection of a Synthetic MPL (SMPL) Adjuvant Incoporated into a Liposomal M2E Influenza A Virus Vaccine in BALB/C Mide infected with H1N1 or pN2
Faculty Mentors: Dr. Jill Adler-Moore and Dr. Nancy Buckley

Haley Smolinski, Megan Telebrico, Jaynie Tao, Lisa Mai, Spencer Jones, Ali Hasan, Giselle Hernandez, and Ashley Stowells
Session 3: Biological and Agricultural Sciences, Undergraduate
Project: Development of a fortified rice product using edible insect flours for developing countries
Faculty Mentors: Dr. Yao Olive Li and Dr. Shuhong Ye

David Vega
Session 4: Physical and Mathematical Sciences
Project: Computational Microscopy on a Cellphone
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ertan Salik

Sofia Pedroza
Session 5: Behavioral and Social Sciences
Project: May the Odds Be Ever in Your Favor: Olympics and the IOC
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Faye Wachs

Parmeet Kohli
Session 6: Business, Economics, and Public Administration: Interdisciplinary
Project: Application of Lean Six Sigma in Business Funcations
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kamran Abedini

Daniel Jesus Grajeda
Session 7: Humanities and Letters; Education
Project: What are internal and external factors that contribute to Chican/o EOPS student persistence in transferrring to a four year university?
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jose Aguilar-Hernandez

Lindsay Hetric
Session 8: Biological and Agricultural Sciences, Undergraduate
Project: Investigation of Bmi1 phosphorylation in breast cancer cells
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Junjun Liu

Brian Martin, Andrew Blancarte, Ketton James, Abraham Paucar, and Ben Saletta
Session 9: Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Engineering and Computer Science
Project: Design of an innovative, Highly Maneuverable, Stealthy Unmanned Underwater Vehicle with ISR Capabilities
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Todd Coburn

Natalie La, Michael Lepore, Yao Bourdon, Tiffany Lai, Wesley Harijanto, Terrence Gaines, Deana Lestina, Chrstine Zheng, Lucas Townsend, Michael Kim, and Kalvin Lam
Session 10: Engineering and Computer Science
Project: Renewable Energy Desalination: Development of Photvoltaic Electrodialysis Desalination System
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ali Sharbat

Poster Presentation Awards

Conor Roland and Martin Sanchez
Interdisciplinary; Behavioral and Social Sciences Poster
Project: Highlty Sensitive Label-Free Biosensors based on Biconically Tapered Fibers
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ertan Salik

Yee Teng Moo, Stephanie Romero, and Michelle Ecarma
Biology and Agricultural Sciences Poster
Project: Effects of pH and Temperature on the Vibrance of Red Cabbage Anthocyanin
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Harmit Singh

Marvin Paredes, Dorian Martinez, Evgeny Melman, Shelby Schneider, Bryan Lemaster, Ramelya Amirkhanian, and Armen Boghozian
Engineering and Computer Science Poster
Project: Simultaneous Milling and Coating and Characterization of Pharmaceutical Powders
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Laila Jallo

1st Annual Distinguished Research Staff Award

Victoria Pantoja, Institutional Review Board staff member

Victoria Pantoja, Institutional Review Board staff member

From Left to Right: Bruce Kennedy ( Instutional Review Board - IRB), Victoria Pantoja ( IRB), President Soraya Coley, and Dr. Yao Olive Li ( URFAC Co-Chair)