Cal Poly Pomona

Winners of the Governor's Employee Safety Awards

In 1980, the Governor’s Employee Safety Awards began to recognize individuals and groups who distinguished themselves thought excellence in safety and health service to the state during the previous year. Awards have been presented to individuals for life saving, responding to hazardous materials incidents, as well as developing safety programs that were not part of the person’s normal duties. Information on nominating employees for this award is available on the EH&S Web Site at

Since the inception of this award, the following Cal Poly Pomona administrators, faculty and staff have demonstrated this excellence in safety and been honored by the receipt of this prestigious award.

  • Ms. Carolyn Forester, Chemistry, 2010

  • Ms. Carolyn Forester, Chemistry, 1999

  • University Housing Services Disaster preparedness Council, 1998

  • Dr. Wei Bidlack, Animal and Veterinary Science, 1996

  • Mini-EOC for the College of Environmental Design, 1996

  • Mr. Ken Gribben, Automotive Services, 1994

  • Mr. Mark Bailey, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 1992

  • Ms. Noel Vernon, College of Environmental Design, 1994

  • Dr. George P. Hart, 1990

  • Mr. Ray Eberle, Housing Services, 1990

  • Mr. Mark Bailey, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 1988

  • Mr. Larry McLerran, Automotive Services, 1988

  • Mr. John Schneck, Shipping & Receiving, 1987

  • Mr. Joseph Wagner, Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning, 1987

  • Mr. Richard Faucher, Housing Services, 1986

  • Chief Thomas Smith, Public Safety, 1985

  • Dr. Peter Weller, Academic Affairs, 1984

  • Ms. Irene Lovewell, Admissions and Evaluations, 1984

  • Mr. Frank Halterman, Physical Plant, 1983

  • Mr. Harold Schleifer, Library, 1983

  • Mr. George Kirstein, Biological Sciences, 1982

  • Mr. Benoni Milton Adams, Agricultural Engineering, 1982

  • Dr. Floyd V. Mathews Jr., Agricultural Engineering 1981