Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA)
The California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, California Penal Code §§ 11164-11174.3 ("CANRA" or the "Act"), identifies certain groups of employees as "Mandated Reporters" of child abuse and also imposes various obligations on and extends certain protections to those Mandated Reporters as well as their employers. As a covered employer, the California State University (CSU) is required to comply with the Act.
Apart from the legal obligations the Act imposes, it is the policy of the California State University to require all Management Personnel Plan employees and all volunteers, and to strongly encourage all other members of the CSU community who are not designated under the Act, to report child abuse and neglect occurring on CSU premises or at an official activity of, or program conducted by, the CSU.
- EO-1083 - Revised July 2017 (pdf)
- Attachment A Penal Code
- Attachment B Categories of Mandated Reporters
- Attachment C Acknowledgment Form for Limited Reporters
- Attachment D Acknowledgment Form for General Reporters
- Attachment E Form SS 8572, Suspected Child Abuse Report
"Child Abuse or Neglect" refers to physical injury or death inflicted by other than accidental means on a child; sexual assault or sexual exploitation of a child including sexual intercourse between a child under 16 years of age and a person 21 years of age or older, lewd or lascivious acts, and child molestation; negligent treatment or the maltreatment of a child by a person responsible for the child's welfare under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child's health or welfare; willful harming, injuring, or endangering a child; and unlawful corporal punishment.
Step One: Immediately, or as soon as practically possible, contact by phone one of the following:
- a police or sheriff's department (including campus police but not including a school district police or security department);
- Cal Poly Pomona Police Department - (909) 869-3070
- Pomona Police Department - (909) 622-1241
- a county probation department (if designated by the county to receive mandated reports); or
- the county welfare department (Child Protective Services or CPS). LA County Department of Children and Family Services- (800) 540-4000
Step Two: Within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident:
- Complete Form SS 8572 (included as Attachment E and also available at http://ag.ca.gov/childabuse/pdf/ss_8572.pdf; instructions available at http://ag.ca.gov/childabuse/pdf/8572_instruct.pdf; and
- send, fax, or electronically transmit it to the agency that was contacted by phone. (Penal Code § 11166(a))
Note: In case of an emergency or if a crime is in progress, employees should always immediately call campus police or 911.
At the time of the phone call, the Mandated Reporter must provide the following information, if known:
- Name, business address, and telephone number of the Mandated Reporter
- Child's name, address, and present location
- Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the child's parents, guardian, or caretaker
- Source of information that led to the suspicion of child abuse
- Name, address, telephone number, and other personal information of person(s) who might have abused the child.
For suspected abuse or neglect occurring on CSU premises or at an official activity of, or program conducted by the CSU, Mandated Reporters are encouraged, but not required, to also notify their supervisors or other appropriate administrators. However, reporting to a supervisor, a coworker, or any other person is not a substitute for making a mandated report to one of the agencies listed above.
Names and contact information for agencies that can accept reports are available online at the following websites:
- California State University Police Departments (by Campus):
Child Protective Services (by county): http://www.hwcws.cahwnet.gov/countyinfo/county_contacts/hotline_numbers.asp
For Sheriffs' Departments (by county): http://www.calsheriffs.org/sheriffs-offices.html
Attachment E is the California Department of Justice form for use by Mandated Reporters to report suspected child abuse or neglect. Known as Form SS 8572, it is available online at: http://ag.ca.gov/childabuse/pdf/SS_8572.pdf. Instructions for completing the form are available online at: http://ag.ca.gov/childabuse/pdf/8572_instruct.pdf.
The California Penal Code §§ 11164-11174.3 (also known as The California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, or CANRA) identifies certain groups of employees as Mandated Reporters. In addition to the statute, the CSU requires all Management Personnel Plan (MPP) employees, Executives, and all volunteers to be designated as Mandated Reporters. Categories of CSU employees and volunteers who qualify as Mandated Reporters are identified in EO 1083's Attachment B.
"General Reporter" is a category of Mandated Reporter, defined as those who are legally required to report child abuse or neglect no matter where it occurs. For the purposes of this policy, any employee who satisfies the criteria for both Limited Reporters and General Reporters will be designated as a General Reporter.
Upon notification that an employee is considered a General Reporter, the employee must complete and submit a form "Acknowledgement of Mandated Reporter Status and Legal Duty to Report Child Abuse and Neglect for General Reporters." This form can be found as Attachment D for E.O. 1083.
"Limited Reporters" is a category of Mandated Reporter, in accordance with California Penal Code § 11165.7(a)(41), and defined by the CSU as those who are legally required to report child abuse or neglect only if it occurs on CSU premises or at an official activity of, or program conducted by the CSU.
Upon notification that an individual is a Limited Reporter, an employee or volunteer must complete and submit "Acknowledgement of Mandated Reporter Status and Legal Duty to Report Child Abuse and Neglect) for Limited Reporters," available at: Attachment C Acknowledgment Form for Limited Reporters
Mandated Reporters must report the following types of abuse or neglect:
- Physical abuse, meaning physical injury other than by accidental means inflicted on a child (Penal Code § 11165.6)
- Sexual assault, including sex acts with a child, intentional masturbation in the presence of a child, child molestation, and lewd or lascivious acts with a child under 14 years of age or with a child under 16 years of age if the other person is at least ten years older than the child (Penal Code § 11165.1(a)(b))
- Sexual exploitation, including acts relating to child pornography, child prostitution, or performances involving obscene sexual conduct by a child (Penal Code § 11165.1(c))
- Statutory rape involving sexual intercourse between a child under 16 years of age and a person 21 years of age or older, which is also a form of “sexual assault” (Penal Code §§ 261.5(d) and 11165.1(a))
- Neglect meaning the negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child by a parent, guardian or caretaker under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child's health or welfare (Penal Code § 11165.2)
- Willful harming or injuring or endangering a child, meaning a situation in which any person inflicts, or willfully causes or permits a child to suffer, unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or causes or permits a child to be placed in a situation in which the child or child's health is endangered (Penal Code § 11165.3)
- Unlawful corporal punishment, meaning a situation in which any person willfully inflicts upon a child cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or a physical injury (Penal Code § 11165.4)
The following are examples of what is not child abuse or neglect for reporting purposes:
- Injuries caused by two children fighting during a mutual altercation (Penal Code § 11165.6)
- An injury caused by reasonable and necessary force used by a peace officer acting within the course and scope of his or her employment (Penal Code § 11165.6)
- Reasonable and necessary force used by public school officials to quell a disturbance threatening physical injury to person or damage to property, for self-defense, or to obtain Executive Order 1083 Revised July 21, 2017 Page 5 of 9 possession of weapons or other dangerous objects under a child’s control (Penal Code § 11165.4)
- Corporal punishment, unless it is cruel or inhuman or willfully inflicts a physical injury (Penal Code § 11165.4)
- Not receiving medical treatment for religious reasons (Penal Code § 11165.2(b))
- Acts performed for a valid medical purpose (Penal Code § 11165.1(b)(3))
- An informed and appropriate medical decision made by a parent, guardian or caretaker after consultation with a physician who has examined the child (Penal Code § 11165.2(b))
Employees with questions regarding their mandated reporter status are to contact:
Sandra Bufalini, C.C.P., Manager, Employment & Compensation
Questions about reporting suspected child abuse or neglect:
Cal Poly Pomona - University Police
Emergencies* Dial 9-1-1
(24 hours/7 days)
Non-Emergency or Business
*If using a cell phone in an emergency, dial (909) 869-3070. 9-1-1 calls from cell phones are routed to the CHP.
Mandated Reporters and all other employees, as well as volunteers, are strongly encouraged to complete the online training course, which can be accessed as follows:
- Employees: Access through SkillPort at https://ds.calstate.edu/?svc=skillsoft (under keyword search "Mandated Reporter")
- Volunteers: To request access to the Skillport training, please ask your campus manager to send an email request to Cal Poly Pomona's Training & Professional Development, including the information indicated below. It will take approximately one week for the set up.
- Email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Subject Line: Request for Volunteer Access to EO 1083 Skillport Training Course
- Information to include in the email: Volunteer's name, and both the program in which the volunteer works, and their role.