|Beginning in 1928 the "Chapel of the Beloved
Disciple" along with other charming Spanish style buildings
were constructed as part of the Voorhis School for Boys, funded
by retired Nash Motor Company executive Charles B. Voorhis. More
than 300 homeless and disadvantaged boys were cared for under
the guidance of Headmaster H. Jerry Voorhis (son of Charles),
who later represented the district for ten years in the United
States Congress. In 1938 the Voorhis family gave the fully equipped
school and farm to California State Polytechnic College, San
Luis Obispo "in perpetuation of their interest in young
people and their education along practical lines." When
the Cal Poly Voorhis Unit opened in the fall of 1938 it was a
men's agricultural college with 80 students and 5 faculty members.
In 1956 instructional programs were moved to the present campus
in Pomona, and in 1966 the campus officially separated from San
Luis Obispo, becoming California's 16th state college.