Dr. Reibel's Professional Background

I am an urban geographer with expertise in neighborhood economic and racial/ethnic change, migration, housing, real estate and financial markets, and retail and service site location. My technical skills are in geographic information systems (GIS) and in quantitative methods including small area demography, statistical programming, and econometric modeling. I have published refereed articles on neighborhood racial and ethnic transitions, immigration, GIS and demographic techniques and financial disinvestment in inner city neighborhoods.

My doctorate is from the UCLA Department of Geography, where I studied with W.A.V. Clark, Allen Scott, Mark Ellis, David Rigby and others. I have worked as a Senior Analyst at George Smith Partners, a commercial real estate investment bank, where I still occasionally contribute as a consultant. I have also done litigation support as an expert witness, as well as GIS training and consulting work in demographics and site location decision support.

I hope to enrich the geography program at Cal Poly Pomona as a teacher, an advisor, a technical advisor and a research specialist. I devote a great deal of energy to student advising and particularly enjoy counseling students about opportunities for graduate training and professional career options.

Click here for my Currriculum Vitae (academic resume)

 

Dr. Reibel's Personal Background (Click on Thumbnails for Larger Pictures)

I got married (Aug 7, 2004) to Moira, a lovely mathematician who makes great chocolate souffles. We have beautiful twin babies, Vera (L) and Emmett, born April 27, 2007. We live in Sierra Madre with my dog Ruby and two cats. Ruby and I spend much of our free time hiking in the beautiful San Gabriel Mountains near our home., unless it's too hot. In the summer I swim laps a lot.

I have been a: farm worker, line cook, touring musician, computer consultant, financial broker, bureaucrat, and a few other things. I speak French fluently, having spent part of my childhood and adolescence in Geneva, Switzerland. I have a sister and a brother (both lawyers!) and three nephews who think I'm a mountain and like to climb on me. My parents are retired academics - I went into the family business. I love rock, be-bop, blues and classical music, and espresso, and I write and perform poetry. I have given up motorcycles and I have no tattoos. My other hobbies are growing monster tomatoes and prepare mouthwatering slow-smoked barbeque (Disclaimer: That's not my BBQ rig in the picture. It's taken from the aerial tramway above the Ohio State Fair in Columbus, August 2006).