Skip To Main Content

Symposium 2016-17

Provost's Awards for Excellence Symposium
Thursday, March 8, 2018, 3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Bronco Student Center, Building 35 Second Floor, Ursa Major Suite A & B

3:00 p.m. - Reception
3:30 p.m. - Welcome & Symposium

RSVP to Symposium

Symposium Video            Read the Polycentric story

For additional information, contact Diane Gonzalez, Provost's Office,  or (909) 869-4051

Background About the Award:

Now in its seventh year, the Provost's Awards for Excellence were developed to recognize faculty who have earned distinction in the areas of teaching, scholarship and creative activities, and service.  Awards are through the generosity of the President in providing a grant from the $42 million Kellogg Legacy Project Endowment.

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation's mission is to support children, families and communities as they strengthen and create conditions that propel vulnerable children to achieve success as individuals and as contributors to the larger community and society.

Presentation Theme:

Our 2016-17 recipients (listed below) will address how their work excites and inspires them.  As a part of that presentation, consistent with the mission of the Kellogg Foundation, our awardees will reflect on the transformative effect their legacy of work has had on our students, the local community, and on society, and how that has led to their own transformation.

2016-17 Recipients:

Excellence in Teaching
Professor Kamran Abedini
Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering

Excellence in Service
Professor David Speak
Political Science

Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities
Professor Nadia Shpachenko-Gottesman