Skip To Content

Meet the Staff

As the university’s central communications office, Public Affairs builds relationships with Cal Poly Pomona’s audiences through numerous efforts, including strategic communication, publications, branding, photographic services, social media and media relations. Our staff has earned dozens of APEX, CASE, Communicator and MarCom awards.

Esther Chou Tim Lynch
Associate Vice President for Strategic Communication and Marketing
(909) 869-4379
tlynch@cpp.edu
  • Strategic Communications
  • Executive Communications
  • University Brand Identity
  • University Spokesman
  • Marketing Communications
  • Emergency Communications
  • Advancement Communications

Esther Chou Esther Chou Tanaka
Director of Public Affairs
(909) 869-3326
estherchou@cpp.edu
  • Publications
  • Executive Communications
  • Marketing Communications
  • Semester conversion
  • Emergency communications
  • PR Roundtable

Ismael Chinchilla Ismael Chinchilla
Digital Communication Editor
(909) 869-4205
iachinchilla@cpp.edu
  • Digital media editor
  • Social media collaborator
  • Writer and editor

Melanie Johnson Melanie Johnson
Communication Specialist
(909) 869-5331
mcjohnson@cpp.edu
  • CyberNews

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • College of Letters, Arts & Social Scienes
  • The Collins College of Hospitality Management
  • College of Extended University
  • Huntley College of Agriculture
  • Student Affairs
  • University Library

Michelle Magcalas Michelle Magcalas
Web Coordinator
(909) 869-4634
msmagcalas@cpp.edu
  • Division of University Advancement websites coordinator
  • Public Affairs websites coordinator
  • Electronic marquee programmer
  • Mass email coordinator

Ani Markarian Ani Markarian
Senior Graphic Artist
(909) 869-5439
amarkarian@cpp.edu
  • Graphic design
  • Publications
  • Graphics standards and logo usage advisor

Cynthia Peters Cynthia Peters
Senior Communication Specialist
(909) 869-3501
capeters@cpp.edu
  • Matt’s Run
  • Cal Poly Pomona Tasting & Auction
  • Semester Conversion
  • PolyUpdates
  • Cal Poly Pomona Now

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • College of Environmental Design
  • Sustainability and environmental issues
  • Rose Float
  • Univesrity rankings

Mercedes Quiroz

Mercedes Quiroz
University Web Editor
(909) 869-3292
mmquiroz@cpp.edu

  • University home page
  • Semester conversion
  • We are Cal Poly Pomona
  • PolyCentric

Tambra Williams Tambra Williams
Executive Assistant to the AVP for Strategic Communication and Marketing
(909) 869-3345
tawilliams1@cpp.edu
  • General office coordinator
  • Publications distribution

Tom Zasadzinski Tom Zasadzinski
University Photographer
(909) 869-3404
tzasadzinski@cpp.edu
  • University photographer
  • Photo archives editor
  • Photographic print sales site coordinator

In addition, several colleges and departments have communications staff members.

Don B. Huntley College of Agriculture
Dan Lee

College of Business Administration
Christopher Neprasch

College of Eduation & Integrative Studies
Ashley Jones

College of Engineering
Christopher Park

College of Environmental Design
Samantha Gonzaga

College of the Extended University
Sam Carpenter

College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences
Vanessa Franco
Christopher Bashaw, Department of Theatre & New Dance
Teresa Kelly, Department of Music

College of Science
Juliet Hidalgo

The Collins College of Hospitality Management
Diana Garcia

Building a strong start on social media

Facebook like thumb

Before you Tweet, know your CHIRPS

CHIRPS