College of Science

Scholarships, Grants, & Awards



Jessica Jackson

Jessica Jackson, a Master's student in Dr. Wei-Jen Lin's laboratory, was awarded the scientific discipline award for her poster presentation on "Study of Autolysins and Autolysis Patterns of Clostridium botulinum" at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students in San Jose, CA. Ms. Jackson was one of 278 awardees out of over 1,700 students who presented their research. The award recognizes students in 12 different scientific disciplines who excel in their research and presentation thereof. Her scientific discipline was Microbiology with a subdiscipline of Bacteriology.

Received a 12 month Stem Cell Internship Award from CIRM (California Institute for Regenerative Medicine) from August 2012-end of July 2013 in a laboratory at University of Southern California

Erika Espinoza

2012-13 Siu Family President’s Council Scholar for the College of Science for an award of $2500

Giselle Blanco

Received 6 month Stem Cell Internship Award from CIRM (California Institute for Regenerative Medicine) during winter and spring quarters of 2012 and she worked in a laboratory at Western University of Health Sciences doing stem cell research.


Juan Ruiz

Awarded a summer 2011 research internship to participate in the NIH-funded Minority Health and Health Disparities International Research Training (MHIRT) Program at Cornell University. The aim of the program involved training. in the Dominican Republic on the Botany, Chemistry and Pharmacology of medicinal plants used in the treatment of infectious diseases in the Caribbean


Elysse Gatdula

  • May 2010, Chuck Bayless Memorial Scholarship, Biological Sciences, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. 
    2010-2011, Southern California Academy of Sciences Student Research Grant, $1000 
    Project title: Molecular biogeography of some California species of Aglajidae (Mollusca: Opisthobranchia).

Gustavo Ramirez:

  • NASA-USRP fellowship to work under Dr. Parag Vaishampayan (one of our summer speakers).

Anna Zelaya

  • Sally Casanova Pre-Doctoral Scholar (California Pre-Doctoral Program), 2010-2011.

Jessamine Quijano

  • ABERCMS: Award for Oral Presentation


Elysse Gatdula

  • 2009 Edward T. Roche Research Assistant Scholarship

Noelle Olson

  • Spring 2010: ARCHES Pell Grant Scholarship
  • Bruno, Muriel Scholarship Scholarship

Liliana Nunez

  • NSF-STEM scholarship for 2009-2010

Michael Peralta

  • 01/2009-06/2009: CSU Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) fellow (
  • 09/2009-06/2010: NSF Scholarship for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) majors recipient.
  • 11/2009: Applied for NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) ( in chemistry.

Anna Zelaya

  • National Institutes of Health (NIH) Research Initiative for Scientific Enhancement (RISE) Program, 2009-Present
  • California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Science Council Scholarship (May 2009)

Grants Awarded

Elysse Gatdula

  • Conchologists of America (COA) Grants to Malacology Academic Grant

Awarded: $1450.00
Project Title: The use of the shell in identifying species of algajid opisthobranchs
Project Summary: The family Aglajidae consists of a group opisthobranchs considered to have transitional body plans since they have retained only small internal shells compared to more basal forms of opisthobranchs possessing large, outer protective shells. The majority of aglajids lack a radula, which is normally used to identify species in other groups of opisthobranchs. Aglajids must be identified using other morphological characters, such as color and reproductive anatomy. However, there are many problems associated with identifying specimens based solely on those characters. This project seeks to explore the use of the anatomy of the shell to classify aglajids. Molecular data will be used to determine the evolutionary relationships among aglajids. Subsequently, the different shell types will be traced in the molecular phylogeny to determine the evolution of the shell morphology as well as the evolutionary significance of shell morphological variation.

  • Spring 2010: Student Research Grant from Southern California Academy of Sciences

Gustavo Ramirez

  • College Cost Reduction Act Award (January- August 2009) (CCRAA)

Plant-Microbe Interaction project: The search for an alternative Nod Factor perception mechanism in Medicago truncatula seeds.

  • National Institute of Health: Minority Health Disparities International Research Fellowship Award (NIH–MHIRT)

Plan-Microbe Interaction project: Construction and application analysis of the wide range red fluorescence conferring plasmid PHC60mCherry, a novel tool with applications in the study of the Rhizobia-Legume symbiosis with multiple fluorescence- tagged microscopy.

Other Awards

Liliana Nunez

Alpha Pi Sigma Sister of the Year Award for the 2008-2009 school year.

Noelle Olson

Awarded for the Nutritional Genomics Conference