Division of Student Affairs

Police Advisory Task Force

Police Advisory Task Force

In 2020, Cal Poly Pomona created a Police Advisory Task Force whose main objective was to provide guidance and recommendations related to community policing and the composition of a police advisory board that will strengthen the lines of communication with students, faculty, staff and leadership.

The Task Force was tasked with becoming familiar with University Police (UPD) policies, philosophies, training etc., including tasks such as conducting research and generating new ideas or solutions. All members were tasked with striving to help identify and prioritize community needs and concerns and provide recommendations to enhance community partnership.

Campus law enforcement, in its approach to community policing, possess a unique combination of stakeholders and achieves different public safety roles when compared to municipal law enforcement. These important differences and the unique nature of policing in the 21st century were considered by the Task Force. 

Charge for 2020-2021

For 2020-2021, Task Force members were charged with reviewing current practices, philosophies and framework, and providing recommendations in the following areas:

  • Campus community outreach and engagement efforts
  • Modes and mechanisms for communication to the campus community
  • Police officer training
  • Transparency
  • Advisory board role and composition
  • Review existing complaint process for UPD
    • Following review, make recommendations for the creation of a formal UPD complaint process that complies with applicable state codes

Goals for 2020-2021


  • Maintain a consistent partnership between the community and UPD (advisory board).
  • Participate in positive and open dialogue in response to law enforcement related concerns and safety.
  • Educate and inform the community about best practices and inclusive approaches to law enforcement practices.


Final PATF Report (Spring 2021)

View Report

PATF Report Executive Summary (Spring 2021)

View Executive Summary

Selection and Terms

The Task Force included membership representing diverse campus stakeholders including students, faculty, and staff.  Ensuring the involvement of diverse voices among membership brings more perspectives to the table and provides better dialogue. With this in mind, the Task Force membership aimed to be inclusive of individuals from as many demographic categories and positionalities as possible.

Task Force members served to recommend what/if an advisory board should exist and if so, what the role and composition should be. Their findings and recommendations are included in the final report.


The Task Force met regularly during the academic year, comprised of the following members:

  • Dr. Gabriele Plickert, Faculty Advisor
  • Dr. Phyllis Nelson, Academic Senate Representative
  • Moriah Easley, Associated Students, Inc. Appointed Representative
  • Sarah Isabel Sharif, Undergraduate Student
  • Christian Joseph Ochoa, Undergraduate Student
  • Alan Joseph Pimentel, Undergraduate Student
  • Jeremy Christian-Blue Manning, Undergraduate Student
  • Alejandro Salinas, Undergraduate Student
  • Lina Luu, Undergraduate Student
  • Emma Lourdes Del Real, Undergraduate Student
  • Emily Ann Cooper, Undergraduate Student
  • Ronald Lira, Graduate Student
  • Julissa Guerrero, Alumni Representative
  • Dr. Jonathan Pettigrew, Director of Student Conduct and Integrity
  • Sergeant Devin Peck, Police Officer
  • Dr. Alejandro Covarrubias, Executive Director for Student Inclusion and Belonging, Chair

Administrative Support:

  • Elena Alemán

Additional Resources