Ahimsa Center presents

Andrew Moss

Wednesday, April 7, 1:00-2:15 p.m. PST (3:00 -4:15 p.m. CST; 4:00-5:15 p.m. EST)

Ahimsa, Labor, and the Struggle for Economic Justice

The history of nonviolence in the 20th and 21st centuries is closely intertwined with the struggles for working people's rights and dignity.  Drawing on historical examples of M.K. Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Cesar Chavez as they engaged with labor struggles, Professor Moss will explore the ways in which ahimsa today remains a vital, necessary, and guiding force for justice in the workplace and the broader community.

The talk will be followed by Q & A and dialogue with the Speaker.

To receive a zoom link for the event, please RSVP Here by April 6.

icon_acrobatDownload Event Flyer

Andrew Moss is an emeritus professor of English, Cal Poly Pomona.  Dr. Moss served as a faculty member and advisor in the Ahimsa Center from 2004 to 2014, creating the course, "War and Peace in Literature," and presenting at several of the Center's Summer Institutes for K-12 Educators.  Since retiring from Cal Poly in 2014, he has been involved with Clergy and Laity United for Economic Justice (CLUE-LA), an interfaith organization that advocates for the rights of low-wage workers and immigrants.  Moss writes periodically on social justice issues for a national op-ed syndicate.  He is a member of the Ahimsa Center Advisory Board.

Contact: ahimsacenter@cpp.edu