The Four Dichotomies

the four dichotomies: extraversion vs. introversion; sensing vs. intuition; thinking vs. feeling; judging vs. perceiving

The four dichotomies define the ways in which you prefer to function and orient yourself to the world. The ways of functioning are grouped into four dichotomies or pairs.

Extroversion and Introversion

The first pair, Extroversion and Introversion, refers to where you get your energy. Extroversion is an external, action orientation and Introversion is an internal, reflective orientation.

Sensing and Intuition

The second pair, Sensing and Intuition, refers to how you take in information. Sensing indicates a preference for more practical attention to facts and details, whereas, Intuition indicates a preference for more abstract attention to patterns and possibilities.

Thinking and Feeling

The third pair, Thinking and Feeling, refers to how you make decisions. Someone with a preference for Thinking focuses more on logic and analysis, whereas, someone preferring Feeling focuses more on personal values and effects.

Judging and Perceiving

The final pair, Judging and Perceiving, refers to how you organize your world. Someone with a preference for Judging tends to be decisive and prefers structure and control, whereas, someone with a preference for Perceiving tends to keep their options open and prefers spontaneity and flexibility.


The MBTI assessment presents questions to determine your preferences in each of the four dichotomies. Once preferences in each category have been determined, a personality type is identified which can help to identify career options best suited for your type.