College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Dale Turner

Dale Turner

Office: 1-302

Extension: 3571

E-Mail: dturner@cpp.edu

Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, 8:15am-9am & 12pm-1pm; Wednesday, 8:15am-9am; Thursday, 10am-12pm; Friday, 12pm-1pm

Advising: All Philosophy majors (both General and Law and Society Option) may visit Dr. Turner for general advising. Any major whose GPA falls below 2.2 must see Dr. Turner.

Research areas:  informal logic and philosophy of education

Recent Scholarly Activities

  • “Existence Problems in Philosophy and Science,” Synthese, 190, 18 (December 2013):  4239-4259. Co-authored with Peter Ross.
  • "Revisiting Deep Disagreement," Informal Logic, 25, 1 (Winter 2005). Co-authored with Larry Wright.
  • "Sensibility Theory and Conservative Complacency," Pacific Philosophical Quarterly, 86, 4 (December 2005):  544-555.  Co-authored with Peter Ross.

Department Staff

Sue Baird

Sue Baird, Administrative Support Assistant

Office: Department Office: 1 - 321

Extension: 4766

E-Mail: sebaird@cpp.edu


Continuing Faculty

David Adams

David Adams

Office: 1-320

Extension: 3574

E-Mail: dmadams@cpp.edu

Website: davidmadamsphd.com

Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday, 2:15pm-3:30pm; Thursday, 2:15pm-3:30pm

Advising: Philosophy (Law and Society Option) majors whose last names start with A-G

Research areas:  bioethics and philosophy of law.

Recent Scholarly Activities

  • Works in progress: “Moral Conformism, Clinical Ethics, and Resolving Normative Controversy.”
  • “Justifying Ethical Expertise,” American Journal of Bioethics, forthcoming.
  • “Are Hospital Ethicists Experts? Taking Ethical Expertise Seriously,” in Jamie Watson & Laura Guidry-Grimes (eds.) Moral Expertise: New Essays from Theoretical and Clinical Perspectives(Dordrecht: Springer; 2018): 207-225.
  • “Clinical Ethics Consultation and Physician Assisted Suicide,” In Jukka Varelius and Michael Cholbi (eds.)  New Directions in the Ethics of Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia (Dordrecht: Springer; 2015).
  • “Belief and Death: Capital Punishment and the Competence-For-Execution Requirement,” Criminal Law and Philosophy 2014. DOI 10.1007/s11572-014-9293-6.     
  • “Ethics Expertise and Moral Authority: Is There A Difference?,” American Journal of Bioethics vol. 13 (2) 2013: 27-28.
  • “Investigational Drugs and the Desperately Ill,” APA Newsletter on Philosophy and Medicine vol. 20 (1) 2012: 6-11.
  • Philosophical Problems in the Law, Fifth Edition (Boston: Wadsworth/Cengage.; 2012)

Photo of Dr. Cory Aragon

Cory Aragon

Office: 1-331

Extension: 3359

E-Mail: csaragon@cpp.edu

Website: https://cpp.academia.edu/CorwinAragon

Fall 2019 office hours:  Wednesday, 1pm-2:50pm; Thursday, 10am-11:50am, 1pm-2:50pm

Advising: Philosophy (Law and Society Option) majors whose last names start with O-Z

Research areas: social and political philosophy (including issues of global justice), normative ethics, feminist philosophy, critical philosophy of race

Recent Scholarly Activities

  • Aragon, Corwin. 2019. “Global Gender Justice and Epistemic Oppression: A Response to an Epistemic Dilemma.” Feminist Philosophy Quarterly 5 (2). https://doi.org/10.5206/fpq/2019.2.7294.
  • Aragon, Corwin, and Alison M. Jaggar. 2018. “Agency, Complicity, and the Responsibility to Resist Structural Injustice.” Journal of Social Philosophy 49 (3): 439–60. https://doi.org/10.1111/josp.12251.
  • “Building a Case for Social Justice: Situating Case Studies in Nonideal Theory” (forthcoming in an edited volume)
  • “Resisting and Resistant Amusement” (forthcoming in an edited volume)
  • Works in progress: “Faces of Epistemic Oppression,” “Responsibility for Migration Injustice,” “The Moral Basis of Structural Responsibility,” “The Politics of Racial Humor,” Seeking Justice in an Unjust World (book-length manuscript)

Michael J. Cholbi

Michael Cholbi

Office: 1 - 319B

Extension: 3845

E-Mail: mjcholbi@cpp.edu

Website: michael.cholbi.com

Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, 4pm-5pm; Wednesday, 12:30pm-2pm

Advising: Philosophy (Law and Society Option) majors whose last names start with H-N

Research areas:  theoretical ethics, applied ethics, and moral psychology

Recent Scholarly Activities (PhilPapers profile)


ding

John Z Ding

Office: 1 - 328

Extension: 4660

E-Mail: zding@cpp.edu

Website: cpp.edu/~zding

Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday: 11:30am-12:45pm, 2: 30pm-3:45pmWednesday: 9: 30am-10:30am (online); 11:30am-12:45pm, 2: 30pm-3:45pm

Research areas:  comparative philosophy, social and political philosophy, Asian philosophy

Recent Scholarly Activities 


Katherine Gasdaglis

Office: 1-327

Extension: 4453

E-Mail: klgasdaglis@cpp.edu

Fall 2019 office hours: Wednesday, 12:30pm-2:30pm; 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month, 2:30pm-4:30pm

Advising: Philosophy (General Option) majors whose last names start with A-K

Research areas:  Kant's theoretical philosophy, philosophy of mind, feminist philosophy

Recent Scholarly Activities


madva

Alex Madva

Office: 1-329

Extension: 3847

E-Mail: ammadva@cpp.edu

Website: alexmadva.com, Academia.edu, PhilPapers, ResearchGate, Google Scholar

Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday 4pm-5pm, Friday 11am-12pm, and by appointment

Advising: Philosophy (General Option) majors whose last names start with L-Z

Research areas:  Philosophy of mind and cognitive science, philosophy of race and feminism, applied ethics (esp. prejudice and discrimination), philosophy of social science, social and political philosophy, phenomenology

Recent Scholarly Activities



Peter Ross

Peter Ross

Office: 1 - 325

Extension: 3036

E-Mail:pwross@cpp.edu

Website: cpp.edu/~pwross

Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, 1pm-2:30pm; Wednesday, 1pm-2:30pm

Research areas:  philosophy of mind, metaphysics, and cognitive science

Recent Scholarly Activities

  • "Phenomenal Externalism's Explanatory Power," Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, 2017.
  • "What the Mind-Independence of Colour Requires," in M. Silva (ed.), How Colour Matters for Philosophy (Springer), 2017.
  • “Spectrum Inversion,” forthcoming in The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of Colour, edited by Derek Brown and Fiona Macpherson.
  • “Primary and Secondary Qualities,” The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Perception, editor Mohan Matthen, Oxford University Press, 2015, 405-421.
  • “Existence Problems in Philosophy and Science,” Synthese, 190, 18 (December 2013):  4239-4259. Co-authored with Dale Turner.   
  • "Perceived Colors and Perceived Locations: A Problem for Color Subjectivism," American Philosophical Quarterly, 49, 2 (April 2012):  125-138.
  • Review of The Senses: Classic and Contemporary Philosophical Perspectives, editor Fiona Macpherson, Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews, 2011.08.24.

Part-Time Faculty Information

  • Fidel Arnecillo

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: faarnecillo@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Friday, 10am-12pm

  • David Chadd

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: dchadd@linkline.com

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, 3:45pm-7pm; Wednesday, 3:45pm-6:30pm

  • Scott Dixon

    Office: 1-319

    Extension: 4591

    E-Mail: swdixon@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday and Thursday: 5:45am-6:45am and 12pm-1pm

  • Gwendolyn Dolske

    Office: 1-319

    Extension: 4591

    E-Mail: gmdolske@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday, 1pm-2pm; Wednesday, 3pm-5pm

  • Michael Duncan

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: mjduncan@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday: 10am-11am

  • Scott Galloway

    Office: 1-319

    Extension: 4591

    E-Mail: sgalloway@fullerton.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday and Thursday: 12pm-1pm

  • Darryl Henry

    Office: 5-205

    Extension: 4046

    E-Mail: dlhenry@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Wednesday, 5:30pm-7:30pm

  • Erik Jackiw

    Office: 17-2257

    Extension: 

    E-Mail: ejjackiw@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Thursday, 12:50pm-2:40pm

  • Tom Keith

    Office: 1-329

    Extension: 4591

    E-Mail: tkeith@cpp.eduamericanphilos@aol.com 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday: 6:30am-7:30am

  • Daisy Laforce

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: dalaforce@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday and Thursday: 5:15pm-6:15pm

  • Gwynn Markle

    Office: 1-319

    Extension: 3164

    E-Mail: gamarkle@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday, 1:20pm-2:20pm; Thursday (online), 11:30am-2:30pm 

  • Grant Marler

    Office: 1-319

    Extension: 3164

    E-Mail: gamarler@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday, 2:30pm-3:30pm; Tuesday, 1pm-2pm; Wednesday, 2:30pm-3:30pm, Thursday, 4pm-5pm 

  • Stephen Parise

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: saparise@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday and Wednesday: 12pm-1pm
  • Linda Reardan

    Office: 5-207 and 9-283 (see below)

    Extension: 4045 (in 5-207)

    E-Mail: lereardan@cpp.edu

    Fall 2019 office hours:  Monday, Wednesday, and Friday (5-207): 8:45-9am; Monday (9-283), 10:50am-11:05am; Wednesday (9-283), 11:15am-11:30am; Friday (9-283), 12:45pm-1pm

  • Adam Stowell

    Office: 5-205

    Extension: 4046

    E-Mail: philosurfer@gmail.com

    Fall 2019 office hours: Monday and Wednesday: 9-am-10am and 12pm-1pm

  • Luca Struble

    Office: 5-207

    Extension: 4045

    E-Mail: lrstruble@cpp.edu 

    Fall 2019 office hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 3pm-3:45pm