

Long Beach, CA 90802-4210

www.calstate.edu

Steve Relyea Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

> 562-951-4600 srelyea@calstate.edu

Action Item: April 15, 2019

DATE: April 4, 2019

TO: **CSU Presidents**

FROM: Steve Relyea

Executive Vice Chancellor and

Chief Financial Officer

SUBJECT: Travel Ban

SUMMARY: California Attorney General expanded the list of banned states to include South Carolina.

ACTION ITEM(S): Travel ban as of April 15, 2019

AFFECTED GROUPS: Faculty, Staff, Students

On April 2, 2019 Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced that South Carolina would be added to the list of banned travel states. The effective date of this ban is April 15, 2019. Please see the link below for the full press release.

CA AG Press Release

Questions about this memo may be directed to Dawn Theodora, Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief Counsel – Business and Finance at dtheodora@calstate.edu or Assistant Vice Chancellor and Controller Mary Ek at mek@calstate.edu.

c: Timothy P. White, Chancellor, Chancellor's Office Chief Administration and Business Officers

Andrew Jones, Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel, Chancellor's Office Loren Blanchard, Executive Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs,

Chancellor's Office

Larry Mandel, Vice Chancellor and Chief Audit Officer, Chancellor's Office



CSU Presidents April 4, 2019 Page 2

> Garrett Ashley, Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement, Chancellor's Office Evelyn Nazario, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources, Chancellor's Office

The following states are currently subject to California's ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

- 1. Alabama
- 2. Kansas
- 3. Kentucky
- 4. Mississippi
- 5. North Carolina
- 6. South Dakota
- 7. Tennessee
- 8. Texas
- 9. Oklahoma
- 10. South Carolina