College of Science

Distinguished Teaching Award

Distinguished Teaching Award Program

In 1999, the College of Science launched its inaugural Distinguished Teaching Award program. Designed to recognize and reward teaching excellence in the College of Science, the award also serves as a medium through which the honorees share their pedagogical approaches and enthusiasm for the educational process with their peers. The Distinguished Teaching Awards are presented during fall quarter at a symposium on teaching excellence, at which time the awardees each give a 30 to 50 minute presentation on their teaching techniques.


Nominate a Professor for the 2018-2019 Award

Award Specifics

The award is extra-special because potential winners are nominated by their peers—faculty, staff, past and present students—and each nomination is accompanied by letters of support. Documenting evidence includes sample student course evaluations as well as a detailed substantiation of the nominee's outstanding performance in teaching.

Selection Comittee

Nominations are reviewed by the Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of one representative from each College of Science department, including honorees from previous years. The Selection Committee requests information from each nominee and from those familiar with the nominee's teaching. On the basis of that information, the committee submits its recommendations to the College of Science dean, along with a complete list of those nominated.

The Distinguished Teaching Awards will be given once a year to a maximum of two awardees.

Distinguished Teaching Award Winners

  • 2017-2018: Yu Sun, Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science
  • 2016-2017: Edward (Eddie) Jo, Assistant Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Health Promotion
  • 2015-2016: Mohammad Husain (Computer Science)
  • 2014-2015: Phillip Beauchamp (Chemistry & BioChemistry)
  • 2013-2014: Jascha Polet (Geological Sciences)
  • 2012-2013: Ángel Valdés (Biological Sciences)
  • 2011-2012: Jennifer Switkes (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • 2010-2011: Michael F.Z. Page (Chemistry and Biochemistry) and Gilbert Young (Computer Science)
  • 2009-2010: Kristine Hartney (Biological Sciences) and Berit Givens (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • 2008-2009: Barbara Burke (Chemistry)
  • 2007-2008: Ben Miller and Amber Rosin (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • 2006-2007: Jill Adler-Moore (Biological Sciences)
  • 2005-2006: Edward Walton (Chemistry)
  • 2004-2005: Craig Rich (Computer Science) and Sepehr Eskandari (Biological Sciences)
  • 2003-2004: Peter Siegel (Physics)
  • 2002-2003: Daisy Sang (Computer Science)
  • 2001-2002: Lilian Metlitzky (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • 2000-2001: Jonathan Nourse (Geological Sciences)
  • 1999-2000: Laurie Starkey(Chemistry)