Meet the Staff

As the university’s central communications office, Strategic Communications builds relationships with Cal Poly Pomona’s audiences through numerous efforts, including strategic communication, publications, branding, photographic services, social media and media relations. Our staff has earned dozens of APEX, CASE, Communicator and MarCom awards.


Esther Chou Esther Chou Tanaka
Director of Strategic Communications
909-869-3326
estherchou@cpp.edu
  • Publications
  • Marketing communications
  • Emergency communications
  • PR Roundtable
  • Brand compliance
  • University spokesman

Cynthia Peters Cynthia Peters
Senior Media Relations Specialist
909-869-3501
capeters@cpp.edu
  • Media Relations
  • CPP Experts Guide
  • University spokesman

Clay Fowler Clay Fowler
Social Media Editor
909-869-4765
cfowler@cpp.edu
  • Social media editor
  • Writer and editor

Melanie Johnson Melanie Johnson
Communication Specialist
909-869-5331
mcjohnson@cpp.edu
  • CyberNews
  • Bronco Magazine
  • Writer and editor

Tom Zasadzinski Tom Zasadzinski
University Photographer
909-869-3404
tzasadzinski@cpp.edu
  • University photographer
  • Photo archives editor
  • Photographic print sales site coordinator

Mercedes Quiroz Mercedes Quiroz
University Web Editor
909-869-3292
mmquiroz@cpp.edu
  • University Home Page
  • We are Cal Poly Pomona
  • PolyCentric
  • Social Media

Michelle Magcalas Michelle Magcalas
Web Coordinator
909-869-4634
msmagcalas@cpp.edu
  • Division of University Advancement websites coordinator
  • Strategic Communications website coordinator
  • Electronic marquee programmer
  • Mass email coordinator
  • Email marketing
  • Bronco Magazine

Ani Markarian Ani Markarian
Senior Graphic Artist
909-869-5439
amarkarian@cpp.edu
  • Graphic design
  • Publications
  • Graphics standards and logo usage advisor

Nancy Yeang Nancy Yeang
Advancement Communications Specialist
909-869-3346
nyeang@cpp.edu
  • Donor relations and stewardship projects
  • Annual Fund campaigns
  • Event scriptwriting
  • Marketing communications
  • Writer and editor
  • Advancement Communications

Stephanie Abraham

Stephanie Abraham
Marketing Communications Specialist
909-869-3344
slabraham@cpp.edu

  • Integrated marketing
  • Advertising
  • Philanthropic Foundation marketing
  • Marketing Communications
  • CPP This Week

Tambra Williams

Tambra Williams
Executive Assistant to the AVP for Strategic Communication and Marketing
909-869-3345
tawilliams1@cpp.edu

  • General office coordinator
  • Department budget
  • Payroll
  • Timekeeper
  • Building marshal

Monika Salazar

Monika Salazar
Administrative Assistant
909-869-3342
monikas@cpp.edu

  • General questions
  • Conference room scheduling
  • Work orders
  • Publication distribution

In addition, several colleges and departments have communications staff members.

Don B. Huntley College of Agriculture
Dan Lee

College of Business Administration
Christopher Neprasch

College of Eduation & Integrative Studies
Ashley Jones

College of Engineering
Christopher Park

College of Environmental Design
Samantha Gonzaga

College of the Extended University
Sam Carpenter

College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences
Diana Cansino
Christopher Bashaw, Department of Theatre & New Dance
Teresa Kelly, Department of Music

The Collins College of Hospitality Management
Diana Garcia

College of Science
Daniel Griggs