Skip To Main Content

Diversity Champions

Diversity Champions

Each year our Cal Poly Pomona affinity groups recognize individuals who have been a champion for diversity issues or efforts within our campus community at the annual Unity Luncheon.   AdA Diversity Champions are students, staff or faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to increasing disability awareness and to promoting access and equity for individuals with disabilities throughout the Cal Poly Pomona campus community in one or more of the following ways:

  • Has taken a visible role in reducing physical, virtual, or perceived barriers and stigma associated with disability.
  • Has contributed to curriculum development, instruction, or educational programming aimed at increasing awareness and knowledge of issues regarding disability.

--Please check back in December 2017--

Deadline to Nominate for 2018 APPLICATIONS--COMING SOON
2016 Diversity Champions, Dr. Joanne Van Boxtel and Alfredo Cortez Valle2016 Diversity Champions, Dr. Joanne Van Boxtel and Alfredo Cortez Valle

Past Recipients

2017 - Mathew Rondney, a Psychology major and Non-Violence Studies minor (student); Dr. Shayda Kafai - College of Education and Integrated Studies (faculty) 

2016 – Alfredo Cortez Valle, Management and Human Resources major, Psychology minor (student); Dr. Joanne Van Boxtel, College of Education and Integrated Studies (faculty)

2015 - Renee Estephan, Biology (student); Cathy Schmitt Whitaker, Student Health and Counseling Services (staff)

2014 – Doron Feuer, Industrial Engineering (student); Lea Manske, Student Support and Equity Programs (staff)

2013 – Micheal Lemus Diaz, Psychology (student); Debbie Jackley, Student Health Services (staff)

2012 – Paul Brooks, Mechanical Engineering (student); Chad Bowman, ARCHES (staff)

2011 – Kimberly Fuentes, Sociology (student); Dawn Finley, Career Center (staff)

2010 – No Unity Luncheon

2009 – Bronco Athletic Association (student group); Sonia Campos, Athletics Department (staff)