Skip To Content

The Collins College Of Hospitality Management

Richard Frank Distinguished Lectureship

The last installment of the Richard N. Frank Distinguished Lectureship Series took place Jan. 26, 2012 from 4-5 p.m. in the Wine Auditorium. The event featured an exciting panel of high-level Disney executives. They were:

  • George A. Kalogridis, President of Disneyland Resort
  • Mary Niven, Vice President, Disney California Adventure & Guest Services, The Disneyland Resort
  • Kristi Breen, Director, Segment College & International Programs, College/International Recruitment, Disney Worldwide Services

The panel was moderated by Dr. Edward Merritt, and the discussion focused on educational leadership. The Collins College was pleased to co-sponsore this installment of the series with the College of Education and Integrative Studies.


The Richard N. Frank Distinguished Lectureship Series was established in 1988 to enable respected industry professionals to spend a few days to several weeks teaching, lecturing, and interacting with students, faculty, and other professionals interested in the goals of The Collins College of Hospitality Management at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

The objective of the Frank Lectureship Series is to augment the classroom experience of students within the College with close interaction with leaders from the hospitality industry and other related disciplines. This not only provides invaluable exposure for Cal Poly Pomona's hospitality management students, but also enables leaders from industry to improve the quality of, and assist in educating, new managers for the industry.

Richard N. Frank is a long-standing advocate and supporter of The Collins School. "Having been associated with the restaurant business in one form or another since childhood, it is quite natural that I should be vitally interested in the continuing development of future food service managers and executives," noted Mr. Frank when he generously donated a major grant to establish an endowment creating The Richard N. Frank Distinguished Lectureship Series.