Application Process

The Academic Senate assigned responsibility for these awards to the Provost’s Awards Selection Committee (PASC), which has established procedures and criteria for the awards, as summarized below. 


The awards are open to all faculty members, librarians, counselors, coaches, and faculty participating in the Faculty Early Retirement Program (FERP) who have been with Cal Poly Pomona for at least 5 years and demonstrate a sustained level of effort in the area of the award. An individual is eligible to receive the award in each area only once.


Nominations may be submitted by any interested person or organization (e.g., student, staff, faculty colleague, administrator, Alumni Association, etc.).  Self-nominations will be accepted.  Nomination statements, limited to two pages, must be submitted electronically to:  by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, November 9, 2018.

Additional Application Materials:

After receiving the nomination statements the PASC will advise nominees of their nomination and ask them to submit a statement of acceptance by Monday, November 19, 2018 with supplementary materials due by 12:00 p.m. on Monday, January 28, 2019.

Announcement of Awardees:

Awardees will be notified by the middle of March, followed by a campus-wide announcement.  In addition, each recipient will be recognized at commencement and will be honored as a keynote speaker at the Provost’s Awards for Excellence Symposium in the winter quarter of the following academic year.


Details on the criteria for each award and additional information about the process are available here

Selection Procedure:

After receiving the nomination statements, the Committee for the Provost’s Award for Excellence shall invite all nominees to accept their nomination and provide materials identified as relevant for further consideration by the Committee.  These materials are described in detail in the sections about each award. All materials must be submitted by the deadline and must conform to the guidelines above.  Materials that do not meet these requirements will not be considered.

The Committee will be broken into three subcommittees, one for each award. The Committee Chair shall serve on all three subcommittees, the Associate Provost shall serve on the Teaching and Service subcommittees, and the Associate Vice President for Research shall serve on the Scholarly and Creative Activity Subcommittee.  The remaining committee members shall serve on one subcommittee. 

The subcommittees shall carefully analyze the nomination statement and the materials submitted by the nominees using the established criteria that have been developed for this purpose.  Each subcommittee shall recommend a ranked set of finalists to the committee as a whole. In the event that none of the candidates meet the high level of achievement expected for the award the subcommittee may chose not to recommend a set of finalists. The entire committee shall select the award recipients if any in each category by majority vote and forward the recommendations to the Provost.