Inclusive Excellence

Inclusive Excellence Council

The Cal Poly Pomona Inclusive Excellence Council serves as an advisory body to the university, focused on fostering our campus value of inclusivity. The council endeavors to foster a diverse, inclusive, welcoming and respectful campus community for all students, faculty and staff. 

As community members, our individual and collective actions reflect our commitment to one another and our community. Key aspects to this commitment include access, equity, belonging, climate, shared responsibility and accountability, and these are the aspects to campus inclusivity the council will examine.   

The Inclusive Excellence Council Executive Board is responsible for:

  • Transparency with the campus community on meetings, goal and advisements
  • Advising the campus on issues and initiatives critical to an inclusive campus community
  • Providing input on program and policy recommendations that promote an inclusive campus community
  • Supporting campus inclusion initiatives such as climate surveys, programs, events, panels, speakers, training and the creation of Principles of Community

Current Projects of the Inclusive Excellence Council Executive Board:

  • Establish Inclusive Excellence subcommittees with extensive campus representation
  • Develop campuswide definitions of frequently used terms related to inclusive excellence
  • Develop campus Principles of Community
  • Launch and analyze a campus climate survey
  • Develop initiatives based on results of the survey

Inclusive Excellence Council Executive Board Membership

The role of the Executive Board is to set the strategic direction and priorities of the council. Members of the Executive Board are appointed by the University President.

Faculty and staff members serve two-year renewable terms. Student representatives serve one-year renewable terms.

The Inclusive Excellence calendar year corresponds with the academic calendar year.

The council convened in December 2019. As a result, the inaugural council year will be an 18-month year, from December 2019 through June 30, 2021.

2019-2021 Executive Board

Chair: Nicole Butts, Interim Presidential Associate for Diversity, Inclusion & Campus Climate
Co-Chair: Dr. Alejandro Covarrubias, Executive Director of Student Inclusion and Belonging
Student Representative: Carla Castillo, ASI Officer of Diversity & Inclusion
Student Representative: Jordan Lee, Resident Advisor, University Housing Services
Faculty Representative: Carlos B. González, Professor and Chair, MHR Department, College of Business Administration
Faculty Representative: Pending
Staff Representative: Bri Sérráno, Pride Center Coordinator, Office of Student Life & Cultural Centers & Adjunct Faculty, Ethnic & Women’s Studies
Staff Representative: Nancy Mejia Terriquez, Enrollment Counselor, Bronco Advising Center
Union Representative: Hector Maciel, Chapter 319 President, CSU Employee Union
Administrative Representative: Joseph Simoneschi, AVP, Finance & Administrative Services
Administrative Representative: Catherine Schmitt Whitaker, Accessible Technology, IT Security & Compliance
Academic Senate Representative: Phyllis Nelson, Academic Senate Chair, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Foundation Representative: Aaron Neilson, Director Dining Services
ASI Representative: Danisha Lawrence, Human Resources Director

Interested in joining an Inclusive Excellence subcommittee?
Click Here