Office of the President

CSUPERB President's Commission

Student in lab

The California State University Program for Education and Research in Biotechnology (CSUPERB) is one of CSU’s ten multi-campus collaborations, also known as Affinity Groups. These groups conduct research on a breadth of topics from agriculture, the health care, to marine science.

CSUPERB’s mission is to develop a professional biotechnology workforce by catalyzing and supporting collaborative CSU student and faculty research, innovating educational practices, and partnering with the life science industry. CSUPERB draws on expertise from all 23 CSU campuses and makes a difference by ensuring all CSU biotechnology students have access to an education that integrates experiential learning, especially team-based research or entrepreneurial projects.

CPP President Soraya Coley has served as chair of the CSUPERB President’s Commission since 2018. In this leadership role, President Coley has emphasized efforts to enhance linkages and partnerships between CSU and the biotechnology industry.  

President’s Commission

President Soraya M. Coley, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (Chair)
President Dianne F. Harrison, California State University, Northridge
President Gayle E. Hutchinson, California State University, Chico
President Leroy M. Morishita, California State University, East Bay
President Robert S. Nelsen, Sacramento State University
President Leslie E. Wong, San Francisco State University