Affordable Learning Initiative

Affordable Learning Initiative (ALI) Steering Committee


The charge of this steering committee is to provide the infrastructure to assist faculty and students in locating affordable, accessible, and quality alternatives to reduce the cost of textbooks and other educational materials while improving the quality of the teaching and learning process. The goal is to help faculty identify, evaluate, and access alternative resources by:


This committee will consist of the major stakeholders on campus. Currently these are:

Sylvia A. Alva Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs
John McGuthry Chief Information Officer, Vice President for Information Technology
Emma C. Gibson Interim Dean of the University Library
  Faculty representatives from each college are appointed by the Academic Senate for a 2-year term
Alyssa V. Loera ALI Steering Committee Chair, Library Faculty, ALI Steering Committee Co-Chair
Suzanne Donnelly Associate Director, Bronco Bookstore, ALI Steering Committee Co-Chair
Ann Loomis Accessibility Specialist, Disability Resource Center
Victoria Bhavsar Director of the Faculty Center, Director of eLearning
April Dawn Lead Instructional Designer, eLearning
Robert Fabrize International Business & Marketing, Faculty
Leslie Jones Library Reserve Services Specialist, Library
Harmit Singh Human Nutrition & Food Science, Faculty
Erick Zelaya Sr. Multimedia Developer, eLearning
Mimi Mikhael ASI Senator-at-Large, Student Representative