Parking Services

Citations

Parking Citation Fines

Per the California Vehicle Code - Division 17 Offenses and Prosecution, Chapter 1 Offense, Article 3 Procedure on Parking Violations, 40215 (a) For a period of 21 calendar days from the issuance of a notice of parking violation or 14 calendar days from the mailing of a notice of delinquent parking violation, a person may request an initial review of the notice by the issuing agency.

Individuals who receive a parking citation and believe that extraordinary or mitigating circumstances warrant a waiver of their parking fine may petition the Parking and Transportation Services Department for reconsideration. Parking citations may be appealed within 21 calendar days of the date of citation issuance or within 14 days of mailing of a notice of delinquent parking violation. Review of a citation may be requested here.  This request MUST be received within in 21 calendar days of the date of citation issuance. If the Request for Administrative Review is submitted after 21 calendar days, your request will not be reviewed. Late fees are not assessed during the period that the appeal is under consideration. After submitting your request for administrative review, you will receive an email confirmation. Please do not pay your citation until you receive a formal response from the university.

If you are dissatisfied with the results of the initial review you may petition for an Administrative Hearing within 21 calendar days of the appeal decision. The hearing may take place in person or by written declaration. To request an Administrative Hearing please contact Parking Services at (909) 869-3061 or parking@cpp.edu. California Vehicle Code 40215(b) requires the appellant to deposit the full citation amount due with Cal Poly Pomona. If you are unable to pay the full amount of the parking penalty before the hearing due to financial hardship, you may apply for a Request for Waiver of Penalty Deposit. If your request is approved, a hearing will be scheduled. If the request for financial hardship status is denied, the full amount of the parking penalty must be paid before an Administrative Hearing will be scheduled. The full text of the CSU Policy on payment plans can be found here

***COVID-19*** Update

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic all Administrative Hearings will be handled via Letters of Declaration. In-person hearings are suspended until further notice.

If you are not satisfied with the hearing officer's decision, you may appeal the decision through the Superior Court pursuant to California Vehicle Code 40230. All appeals must be requested within 30 days from the date of the hearing officer's decision. You may file a third level appeal by appearing in person or writing a letter to the Court. A $25.00 filing fee must be submitted to the court for each citation that you are appealing. You must also provide the court a copy of your second level administrative hearing decision. The Court will respond via US Mail with your hearing date. The files of the citation administrative hearing decision will be submitted to the Court as evidence. If the Judge presiding over your case renders a decision to dismiss your citation, the $25 filing fee along with your parking fine will be refunded.

 

No Valid Short-term permit $43.00
Overtime Parking/Green zone $43.00
Overtime Parking/Loading Zone $43.00
Expired Short-term permit $43.00
Parking Outside Marked Lines $43.00
Motorcycle in Auto Space $43.00
Wrong Side of Street $43.00
No Parking Anytime Posted $48.00
Red Curb $48.00
No Parking/Shuttle Stop $48.00
No Stopping Anytime $48.00
Temporary No Parking posted $48.00
No Valid Parking Permit $48.00
No Permit Displayed $48.00
Poly Vista/Resident Permit Required $48.00
President Parking Only $48.00
Passenger Load/Unloading Zone $48.00
Set Emergency Brake/motor running $48.00
Right Wheel over 18" from curb $58.00
Service Vehicle Only $58.00
Parked on Grass/Planter/Dirt Area $58.00
Crosswalk $58.00
Block Public/Private Driveway $58.00
Double Parked $58.00
Parked w/in 15 feet of Fire Hydrant $58.00
Sidewalk $58.00
Bus Zone $58.00
Police/Medical Vehicle only $58.00
Do Not Enter posted $58.00
Intersection $58.00
Fire Road $98.00
Lost/Stolen Permit $230
Forged/Altered Permit $230
Misuse of Permit $230
Handicap Parking $416
Parked within 3 feet of wheelchair ramp $416
Failure to present valid Disabled Placard I.D. $416
Penalty for Late Payment of Citation $71