Science Educational Enhancement Services


In addition to the many research fellowships that SEES awards students, the program has two prestigious awards of significance. They are awarded in spring and commemorate the accomplishments of the program's top all-around students. The winners are honored at the SEES Dinner & Awards Reception, where we invite back the previous winners of these awards from throughout the years. They represent an impressive and cherished history to the program and we are honored to have been a place they called home. The awards are in name of the program's first two directors, Dr. Paul Hiemenz (1987-1999) and Dr. Barbara Burke (1999-2013).

Dr. Paul C. Hiemenz SEES Award

Paul Hiemenz

Hiemenz Awardees

Name Year
Taujai Williams 2000
Audrey Delgado 2001
Gregorio Sanchez 2001
Sara Martinez 2002
Noel Ramirez 2003
Kristine Nodarse 2004
Alma De Anda 2004
Jere Wilson 2005
Eylsee Gatdula 2006
Cristian Agular 2007
Atrek Matthews 2007
Cynthia Castillo 2008
Rosemary Camarena 2009
Sandra Hernandez 2009
Ulysses Gatdula 2010
Ashley Santiago 2012
Edward Guzman 2013
Vanessa Yanez 2013
David Scianni 2014
Eliza Hernandez 2015
Daniel Vallejo 2016
Ashley De Luna 2017
Lizzeth Acuna 2018
Stephenie Martinez 2019
Cindy Toscano 2019
Summer Blanco 2020
Marycruz Fernandez 2021
Abigail Trujillo 2022
Bethany Sesti 2023

Dr. Barbara A. Burke SEES Award

As a tribute to the tireless effort of Dr. Barbara A. Burke, an award is established to commemorate her dedication to SEES and the countless people she benefited. It honors students who, during their college career, have contributed significantly to improving and enhancing the SEES program.

Dr. Barbara A. Burke

Burke Awardees

Name Year
Adriana Granados 2015
Michael Torres 2016
Jonathan Zapata 2017
Monica Say 2018
Robert Parsons 2019
Camille Abeyta 2020
Jenevieve Segura 2020
Edna Lomeli 2021
Carolina Mata 2021
Mateo Avila 2022
Olivia Carrillo 2023
Hunter Seropian 2023