Symposium 2018-19

Provost's Awards for Excellence Symposium
Thursday, October 10, 2019, 3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Bronco Student Center, Building 35 Second Floor, Ursa Major Suite A & B

3:00 p.m. - Reception
3:30 p.m. - Welcome & Symposium

RSVP to Symposium

Symposium Video 2018-19            Read the Polycentric story

For additional information, contact Diane Gonzalez, Provost's Office,  or (909) 869-4051

Background About the Award:

Now in its ninth year, the Provost's Awards for Excellence were developed to recognize faculty who have earned distinction in the areas of teaching, scholarship and creative activities, and service.  Awards are through the generosity of the President in providing a grant from the $42 million Kellogg Legacy Project Endowment.

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation's mission is to support children, families and communities as they strengthen and create conditions that propel vulnerable children to achieve success as individuals and as contributors to the larger community and society.

Presentation Theme:

Our 2018-19 recipients (listed below) will address how their work excites and inspires them.  As a part of that presentation, consistent with the mission of the Kellogg Foundation, our awardees will reflect on the transformative effect their legacy of work has had on our students, the local community, and on society, and how that has led to their own transformation.

2018-19 Recipients:

Excellence in Teaching
Professor Donald Edberg
Aerospcae Engineering Department

Excellence in Service
Professor Steve Alas
Biological Sciences Department

Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities
Professor Xudong Jia
Civil Engineering Department