College of Science

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Department News


Congratulations to Dr. Bohdan Schatschneider for receiving a $4.8K RSCA award in student support involving Organic Electronic Materials.

Congratulations to our chemistry major Brandon Pham who was as the Dr. Andrew G. Chong Scholarship recipient from the College of Science. This is a Presidential-level award, and we are proud of you!


Congratulations to Dr. Alex John for being awarded $60K to study Catalytic Processes involving Lingnocellulosic Agricultural Waste in the CSU ARI competition.


Congratulations to Dr. Katie McCulloch for being a RSCA award for her project to investigate Bile Acid Metabolic Enzymes.


Congratulations to our chemistry majors Azra Azvar and Christopher Foronda for their work on the Rose Float the  won the Director Trophy Award in the 2020 Tournament of Roses competition. Dr. Page had a great time visiting with you in Pasadena!


Tenure-Track Faculty Search Announcement

Organic Chemistry Position: 11/15/2019  -  Position finalists have been invited for campus visits.

Analytical position: 11/20/2019  -  Position finalists have been invited for campus visits.



Celine Parker SCCUR Award

Over the weekend Celine Parker, a Chemistry major, was one of the recipients of the Exemplary Oral Talk awards at SCCUR. Celine is finishing up a Senior Thesis project focused on developing "Green Oxidation" of alcohols in Alex John’s research group.  Congratulations to Celine Parker and Dr. Alex John for your remarkable work!!


Good News

Dr. Michael Page  has been elected the new Department Chair by the chemistry faculty!!

Paper Receives National Recognition

Chemistry graduate student Erica Hummel and her advisor, Assistant Professor Chantal Stieber, had their recently-published paper spotlighted by the NSF XSEDE program.  

Dr. Stieber Receives NSF CAREER Award

Dr. Chantal Stieber was the recipient of a $475,000 prestigious NSF CAREER Award for her proposal entitled “Quantifying Nitrogen-Oxide (NO) Activation and Coordination Modes Through Synthesis, Spectroscopy and Calculations”.   This will allow her group to explore how metal centers interact with nitrogen-oxide containing species.  Read the proposal abstract at the NSF website.  Awesome work Dr. Stieber, congratulations!  

Teacher-Scholar Awards for Chemistry and Biochemistry Faculty

Congratulations to the following faculty that received Provost’s Teacher Scholar Program Awards for 2019-20:  Alex John, Kathryn McCulloch, Bo Schatschneider, Chantal Stieber and Peng Sun.  These awards will provide assigned time to support their research efforts with our students.

Publication for Dr. McCulloch

Dr. Kathryn McCulloch, Assistant Professor, is an author on the paper entitled "An alternative N-terminal fold of the intestine-specific annexin A13a induces dimerization and regulates membrane-binding” which was recently published in the Journal of Biological Chemistry.  Congratulations to Dr. McCulloch and her colleagues.




For More News Articles visit our News Archive