College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

Two political science majors receive prestigious President's Council Scholarship for 2016

Two political science majors receive prestigious President's Council Scholarship for 2016

The Department of Political Science is pleased to announce that two of our undergraduate students received the university-wide President's Council Scholarship. Joshua Ebiner and Steven Zhang have been named President's Council Scholars for 2016-2017. The President's Council Scholarship Program represents the finest of Cal Poly Pomona's traditions. Scholarship recipients not only succeed in the classroom, they are committed to improve their local communities. They volunteer and are driven to assit other, especially those in underserved communities. Joshua and Steven were amongst a group of approximately 20 undergraduates across the campus who received the award this year. 

President Soraya Coley presided over the conferral of the scholarships on Wednesday, October 5 at the Kellogg West Conference Center. Provost Sylvia Alva and CLASS Dean Sharon Hilles presented the award and medals to Steven and Joshua's parents (Joshua is currently in Washington DC as the campus' Panetta Intern). Steven gave a speech thanking his Cal Poly Pomona support system including faculty, staff, benefactors and academic advisors. Joshua's parents read a speech prepared by him as he could not make it to the ceremony. Congratulations to Steven and Joshua!

Interested in applying to be a President's Council Scholar for 2017?

Founded in 1983, the program awards a select group of students each year based on academic and co-curricular excellence rather than need. Recipients must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and demonstrate significant contributions to the community during their university years. Each of the endowed scholarships is named by its benefactor and provides a monetary award for the recipient. To apply, use the Bronco Scholarship Application. Applications are typically in January or February, but check Bronco Scholarship Application for more information. 

Joshua Ebiner - Bernard and Lucie Bidart President's Council Scholar

Joshua Ebiner - President's Council Scholar

Steven Zhang - Lowell Overton President's Council Scholar

Steven Zhang - President's Council Scholar