2016 Department Awards Reception

14th century depiction of 12th century German poet and musician Heinrich von Rugge riding a horse. The image is in the public domain and can be accessed at http://digi.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/diglit/cpg848/0239.

On May 24, the EFL Department held its annual awards reception in Ursa Minor. Congratulations to this year's awardees and graduates!

Outstanding Certificate students

Chinese: Mariko Hamagami
German: Alison DeAlmeida

Outstanding Minor students

Chinese: Eloisa Alvarado
French: Alexandra Rivas Ixtlahuac
Spanish: María de los Ángeles Reyes
TESL: Phuong Huynh 

Spanish Major Awards

Outstanding Students: Gabriela Sánchez and Violeta Villagómez
Faculty Recognition of Excellence: Galia Alba 

English Literature Major Awards

Outstanding Students: Alison DeAlmeida, Maxwell McAllister, and Emily Rock
Faculty Recognition of Excellence: José Aldana and Brittany Kemp 

English Education Major Awards

Outstanding Students: Patricia Reyes and Emily Smith
Faculty Recognition of Excellence: Hailey Stewart

Lillian Wilds Shakespeare Scholarship Award

Mabel J. Schreffler

Ted Pugh Poetry Prize

Allison Bruins
Honorable Mention: Taylor Ikehara and Kathleen Reyes Jessica Santos

Outstanding English Graduate Student Awards

Literature: Natalie Rajasinghe
Rhetoric & Composition: David Richards
TESL: Melody Hanawalt

EFL Student of the Year Award

Emily Smith