2018 Department Awards Reception

On May 29, the EFL Department held its annual awards reception in Ursa Minor — and announced its new name, the Department of English & Modern Languages (read more here). Congratulations to this year's awardees and graduates!

Terra cotta figure from late 7th century China, Tang dynasty, on display at the San Diego Museum of Art. Photo taken in 2013.

Outstanding Certificate Award

German: Teresa Magsaysay

Outstanding Minor Awards

Chinese: Talia Johanna Narduzzi
French: Kyle Garcia
Spanish: Lani Mojica
TESOL: Stephanie Galvez

Spanish Major Award

Outstanding Student: Alicia Ayala

English Literature Major Award

Outstanding Student: Lydia Summerville

English Education Major Award

Outstanding Student: Cloe Zeidan

EFL Faculty Recognition of Excellence

Jina Kim

Award for Multilingual & International Studies

Po-Shen Chiang

Outstanding English Graduate Student Awards

Literature: Heidi Arndt
Rhetoric & Composition: Rebecca Williams
TESOL: Chelsea Novotny

Lillian Wilds Shakespeare Scholarship

Vincent James T. Kirk

Ted Pugh Poetry Prize

John Danho
Runner-up: Clarissa Chavez
Honorable Mention: Sonia Ohan & Cheyenne Peat-Davis

EFL Student of the Year

Joseph Schwaller