College of Science

Computer Science


ABET Accredited
The Computer Science Department conducts both an undergraduate and a graduate program in Computer Science. The undergraduate program offers a dynamic curriculum with a strong emphasis on software design. Students navigate the intricacies of their project-oriented coursework as they learn to design, build, and implement computer software from the ground up. The program provides an extensive background in computer programming languages, computer architecture, and the design and application of computer algorithms. Progress through this diverse curriculum leads to concentrated instruction on topics such as Information Assurance and Security, cloud computing, mobile computing, software entrepreneurship, wireless communication networks, machine learning, data mining, high performance computing, robotics, human computer interaction3D game programming, and data science.

The department's Bachelor of Science program has been fully accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET since 1994. For further information visit the Program Accreditation & Assessment page.

What's New!

new content 2019-20 Two Open Tenure Track Faculty Positions - Assistant Professor of Computer Science. Preference will be giving to candidates in any of the areas of Software Engineering, Database/Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence, and Data Science. Other major areas will also be considered. Please visit the Faculty Affairs website for more information. You can also apply directly.

new content The data science center is established to train students in competencies and skills in data science. We serve both CS and non-CS majors. Please visit the data science center for more information. 

Other Announcements:

Lecturers - The Computer Science Department invites applications for lecturers. An advanced degree in Computer Science, or related field, is desirable. Please download the Lecturers Information Sheet (PDF) for more information. 

The CS department is delighted to annouce the scholarship awardees for the 2019 year. Congratulations!

2019 Alvarez/Microsoft - First Generation - Computer Science Scholarship

  • Mei-Ying R. Croddy, Isabel DeLa Paz, Minwoo Soh, Denise Q. Tran, and Varun Venkitachalam.

2019 James Lebowitz Memorial Computer Science Scholarship

2019 BBH Computer Science Scholarship

  • Lei Pei

2019 Dr. Debra A. Brum Computer Science Scholarship

  • Teresita Leonor Esver

2019 Boeing Computer Science Scholarship

  • Patriz Elaine M. Daroy and Angela G. Gadon