University Accounting Services

Assembly Bill No. 1887

Assembly Bill No. 1887 is a California law that restricts state agencies from requiring employees to travel to any state that has enacted a law that discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identify, or gender expression.  The law also prohibits state-funded and state-sponsored travel to states on the list.  The restrictions apply to all CSU employees, officers, or members, as well as non-employee travelers, including students.

Travelers are required to check the Office of Attorney General’s website for the list of affected states prior to initiating the travel approval process.

The following states are currently subject to California’s ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

State Effective Date
Alabama June 22, 2017
Arkansas July 29, 2021
Florida July 1, 2021
Idaho July 1, 2020
Iowa October 4, 2019
Kansas January 1, 2017
Kentucky June 22, 2017
Mississippi January 1, 2017
Montana July 1, 2021
North Carolina January 1, 2017
North Dakota August 1, 2021
Ohio September 30, 2021
Oklahoma June 22, 2018
South Carolina April 15, 2019
South Dakota June 22, 2017
Tennessee January 1, 2017
Texas June 22, 2017
West Virginia July 8, 2021

For additional information regarding AB 1887, please visit the resources below: