Political Science

National Model United Nations

Each spring a delegation from Cal Poly Pomona participates in the national simulation in New York at the UN Building and at a nearby hotel. The delegation has participated in this simulation for over forty years, and has returned to Cal Poly bearing awards every year since 2000. As such, the program is well-renowned for promoting academic and professional excellence. Recently, the 2023-2024 Model UN Team earned "Outstanding Delegation" and "Outstanding Committee in Delegation" awards representing the Netherlands. 

Website: https://cppnmun.wixsite.com/modelun

2024-2025 Applications

Applications for the spring 2025 team will be released in October 2024. For more information and this year's application, please visit https://cppnmun.wixsite.com/modelun. Team members must be committed to attending the national conference in New York City from April 6-10, 2025. If you have questions, please email faculty advisor Dr. Marc Scarcelli (scarcelli@cpp.edu). 

2024-2025 Head Delegates

To be announced

Former Head Delegates

2023-2024: Victoria Flores and Ariana Isidoro
Spring 2023: Raisa Majid and Tala Qasqas
Fall 2022: Janette Ly and Tala Qasqas
2021-2022: Janette Ly and Juan Montero
2020-2021: Natalie Kassar and Janette Ly
2019-2020: Natalie Kassar and Edgar Orozco
2018-2019: Ayham Dahlan and Jordan Dayer
2017-2018: Tripp Hatch and Jake Messenger
2016-2017: Tara Kwan and Steven Zhang
2015-2016: Daniel Castillo and Carly Owens
2014-2015: Daniel Castillo and Melissa Petersen
2013-2014: Rana Abuershaid and Salvatore Palamino
2012-2013: Kiana Farzad

Model UN in New York City

History of Cal Poly Pomona Model UN

Cal Poly first sent a delegation to the national conference in the spring of 1974. Dr. Mohammed Al-Saadi, of the Political Science Department, was faculty adviser for the 1974 team. There was then a three-year hiatus during which Cal Poly did not participate. In the fall of 1976, three members of the university’s ASI (Associated Students—the university’s student government) asked Professor of History Emeritus, John Allphin Moore Jr. to assume the position of faculty adviser. Two of those students—Sean Heger and Peggy Weis—became delegates on our first team in 1977. A set of bylaws was set down by the ASI. With these bylaws the ASI was able to have a system of recruitment and registration, also to send forms to the national organization. This system for the most part, has be followed to the present day. Also, the course SSC 410 (Studies of Peace) was organized at Cal Poly Pomona and became the NMUN preparatory class.

Cal Poly Pomona Delegation History

Over time, awards categories have evolved, partly to take into account the increase of participating teams, and also to stimulate a more cohesive conference. Today, the awards for participation were: “Outstanding Delegation,” “Distinguished Delegation,” and “Honorable Mention.” Only a handful of schools gain such recognition. For about two decades there has also been an “Outstanding Position Paper” award, granted to a select few delegations. Cal Poly has been a frequent award-winner at the NMUN, having received recognition for 28 of the 41 years of participation, including 20 straight years from 1998-2018. That is, the university has established a reputation as one of the top participants in this international conference.

Here are the countries Cal Poly Pomona has represented each year and the awards each team earned:

1977 - Poland, “Best Delegation”
1978 - Yugoslavia
1979 - Hungary
1980 - China
1981 - Austria
1982- Czechoslovakia, “Distinguished Delegation”
1983 - France
1984 - Italy
1985 - German Democratic Republic (East Germany)
1986 - United Kingdom, “Distinguished Honorable Mention”
1987 - The Netherlands
1988 - Federal Republic of Germany (W. Germany), “Distinguished Delegation”
1989 – France, “Distinguished Delegation”
1990 - Federal Republic of Germany
1991 - Syria
1992 - Mexico, “Honorable Mention”
1993 - Palestine, “Honorable Mention”
1994 - Vietnam
1995 - (no delegation)
1996 - Trinidad and Tobago
1997 - Finland
1998 - Norway, “Honorable Mention”
1999 - Lebanon, “Honorable Mention”
2000 - Finland, “Distinguished Delegation”
2001 - Costa Rica, “Outstanding Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2002 - Tunisia, “Distinguished Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2003 - Belize, “Distinguished Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2004 - Syria, “Outstanding Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2005 - Djibouti, “Honorable Mention”
2006 - Hungary, “Outstanding Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2007 - Greece, "Distinguished Delegation"
2008 - Portugal, “Outstanding Delegation” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2009 - Slovakia, “Honorable Mention” and “Outstanding Position Papers”
2010 - Guinea, "Honorable Mention"
2011 - Poland, "Distinguished Delegation"
2012 - Cyprus, "Distinguished Delegation"
2013 - Panama, "Outstanding Delegation"
2014 - Phillippines, "Outstanding Delegation" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
2015 - Spain, "Outstanding Delegation," "Outstanding Delegation in Committee" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
2016 - Mexico, "Distinguished Delegation" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
2017 - Slovenia, "Outstanding Delegation," "Outstanding Position Paper"
2018 - Poland, "Distinguished Delegation" and "Outstanding Position Papers"
2019 - Argentina, "Outstanding Delegation," "Outstanding Delegation in Committee" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
2020 - Jordan, "Outstanding Position Paper" *Conference not held because of COVID
2021 - Malta, "Distinguished Delegation"
2022 - Bolivia, "Distinguished Delegation" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
Fall 2022 - Saudi Arabia, "Honorable Mention" | Norway, "Outstanding Position Paper" (Japan conference)
Spring 2023 - Gabon, "Outstanding Delegation" and "Outstanding Position Paper"
2024 - Netherlands, "Outstanding Delegation", "Outstanding Delegation in Committee" 

Connect with Model UN on Social Media


Dr. Marc Scarcelli
Model UN Advisor

Office: Building 94, Room 310
Email: scarcelli@cpp.edu